Go to main content Go to main menu

Doctoral School / UAM

About us



UAM’s Multidisciplinary Doctoral School, also known as EDUAM, was established in December 2015 with the aim of organizing, managing, coordinating and supervising doctoral studies at UAM within the framework of its investigation strategy. The Doctoral School offers 35 Doctoral Programs in five areas of knowledge: Arts and Humanities, Sciences, Health Sciences, Social and Legal Sciences, and Engineering.

The School’s multidisciplinary approach helps promote synergies and collaboration among its various Doctoral Programs. EDUAM seeks to equip students with crosscutting skills, and plans, supports and provides training specific to each area of investigation. By doing this, it encourages interdisciplinary instruction, better student training and increased career opportunities for students.

EDUAM wishes to raise the international visibility of its Doctoral Programs by bringing attention to its educational and research offer, including its results. EDUAM wishes to attract the best researchers and doctoral students, and promotes collaboration with public and private institutions conducting research in related fields, with a view to reinforcing the social impact of the School’s research programs.

EDUAM has a coordinated academic and administrative management structure that enables it to organize and streamline the use of resources available to doctoral students, facilitate, simplify and support the work carried out by the staff, and better serve the needs of its students.


          Director: Miguel Remacha Moreno


          Vice-director for AcademicTraining: Mónica Domínguez Martín


          Vice-director for International Relations: Marta Ruiz Ortega


          Vice-director for Quality Management: Yolanda León Álvarez


          Vice-director for Communication an Academic Secretary: Marta Inés Tordesillas Colado




Permanent Commission of the Doctoral School: 

          In addition to the EDUAM Management Team and Head of Service, it is made up of:

Francisco Zafra Gómez (PD in Molecular Biosciences, Faculty of Sciences)

Juan José Arredondo Lamas (PD in Molecular Biosciences, Faculty of Medicine)

Oscar Lorenzo González (PD in Medicine and Surgery, Faculty of Medicine)

Joaquín Paredes Labra (DP in Education, Faculty of Teacher Training and Education)

Juan José de Miguel Llorente (Science branch, Faculty of Sciences)

Luis Bolaños Rosa (Science Branch, Faculty of Sciences)

Miguel Ángel García García (Engineering branch, EPS)

Antonio Carcas Sansuan (Health Sciences Branch, Faculty of Medicine)

Carmen de la Guardia Herrero (Branch of Arts and Humanities, Faculty of Philosophy and Letters)

Soledad Torrecuadrada García-Lozano (Social and Legal Sciences Branch, Faculty of Law)

María Sotillo Méndez (Faculty of Psychology)

Cristóbal Torres Albero (Faculty of Economic and Business Sciences)

          Juan Andrés Chulde Ruano, (DP in Education, President of the Council of Doctoral Student Representatives)

      Daniel Fernández Romero, (DP in Economy and Business, Representative of the Council of Doctoral Student Representatives)


Doctoral Students Office:
doctorado.medicina@uam.es (School of Medicine)



Beatriz Caro Miranda (beatriz.caro@uam.es) 

Chief of Section

Gloria Esteban Morales (gloria.esteban@uam.es) 

Admissions, Management and Monitoring

Belén Casas López, Chief of area (belen.casas@uam.es) 

Miriam Lugo García (miriam.lugo@uam.es


Sergio Rollán Venzalá (sergio.rollan@uam.es

 Ana Mª Serra Pérez (anamaria.serra@uam.es

Ángela Núñez Fernández-Barbado (angela.nunnez@uam.es)

Susana Peris Sos (susana.peris@uam.es

Jaime Olmos Quilón (jaime.olmosq@uam.es)

Thesis Management
Kalin Nikolov Lilov (kalin.nikolov@uam.es) 

Carmen Hernández Verdejo (mariacarmen.hernandezv@uam.es) 

Paz Mayor Gutiérrez (paz.mayor@uam.es) 


Financial Office

Carlo Montero Baldeón, Chief of area carlo.montero@uam.es 

Mª Aránzazu Amezcua Pérez (maria.amezcua@uam.es


Joint guardianship and Mobility of Doctoral Students

Carlo Montero, Chief of area (carlo.montero@uam.es) 


Quality Unit

Dolores Marcos García (dolores.marcos@uam.es)

Laura Domínguez Montiel (laura.domienguezm@uam.es) 


EDUAM School of Medicine Campus

Ana Bueno Pérez, Chief of area (ana.bueno@uam.es)

Celia Roldán Ibáñez (celia.roldan@uam.es)